The Devil in Your Dreams

Temptation of Christ by J. Kirk Richards
Temptation of Christ by J. Kirk Richards

I had a vivid dream last week. I dreamed the about the devil. He was roaming through the building and he was coming to kill. We knew he was coming and had to figure out how to escape. I chose to play dead and hope he wouldn’t notice me. Many were already on the floor playing dead because they had the same idea.

When I was in high school, I had a similar dream. The devil confronted me and he was terrifying. I turned to run away, but then I got angry. I turned suddenly and got in his face. I put my hand out and said, “In the name of Jesus, go away.” He left.

These are not fictional dreams. They are real. They produced a sharp imprint on my memory because they woke me up. I believe they carry an important message about the different ways we can choose to respond to evil in the world. Yes, folks. The devil does exist and he roams the earth looking for his next victim. He uses hate, lies, pride and the fear of death as his weapons to separate us from God.

Le_Songe_de_Tartini_par_Louis-Léopold_Boilly_1824

Will we choose to play dead or will we fight?

“Be alert and of sober mind. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour.” [I Peter 5:8]

“…but you will receive power when the Holy Spirit has come upon you; and you shall be My witnesses both in Jerusalem, and in all Judea and Samaria, and even to the remotest part of the earth.” [Acts 1:8]

Leave a Reply

