Tin Can on a String

tin-can-11“The odd thing about this form of communication is that you’re more likely to talk about nothing than something. But I just want to say that all this nothing has meant more to me than so many somethings.” [You’ve Got Mail]

Social media sometimes feels like a tin can on a string, reaching from my window to yours. People say that social media is nothing of substance, but let me just say that I draw comfort from verses and encouragement you post. I laugh at the funnies you post. I pray about problems you post I can’t fix and try to help when your computer won’t do what you want it to or your dishwasher is broken. I rejoice with you about your triumphs. I am gratified when you congratulate my child for his or her success or “like” my photos. Facebook allows me to stay connected with you–even with friends I would be unlikely to see at a high school or college reunion. So, when I see you in person, I feel like we can pick up like we saw each other just yesterday. Isn’t that wonderful?

So, for all the people who disparage social media, this is just something to consider. When I am old and in the nursing home, I hope we still have social media and that my children will ensure I have a working laptop and WiFi.

Leave a Reply

