Balm for the Spirit

Screen Shot 2016-03-02 at 12.48.12 PM.pngHate and anger are not a balm to hate and anger. Yesterday, when Bible club began, my second-grade students were very unsettled. I spent the first ten minutes of class separating students, giving warnings, settling disputes and pulling stickers (our behavior management system). Before I began telling the gospel story, the story of the crucifixion and resurrection of Jesus, I stopped for a minute. I got the attention of the students–no mean feat because they were all doing their best to get some attention, and not in a positive way. I said, “There is a person in this room who does not want to hear my story today.” One little girl immediately shouted out, “The devil!” Yep.

It took a moment of quiet time, relaxation, prayer and deep breathing for the kids to let go of their anger towards each other. The devil was truly at work in the classroom on that day. God heard my prayer and the prayers of the other teachers to help them concentrate on my words (God’s message) and they received the gospel. It was a remarkable thing to call out the devil and tell him to get out of there. It always works. The devil has no power over the Word of God.

The Bible is God’s Word. Spend some time there today. Reflect on how you deal with hate and anger, whether it is towards a political party, a political candidate or an estranged loved one. Cleanse your spirit of hate and anger. Our God is not a god of confusion, but a God of order out of chaos. God has got this. I promise.

“For God is not a God of disorder but of peace–as in all the congregations of the Lord’s people.” [I Cor. 14:33]

Leave a Reply

